Every Day I’m Shuffling

I can not get over just how difficult running is. Not just because of the weather as late either. It’s not quite as simple as putting one of myself in front of the other (of myself). I mean, it is, but really- it takes much more effort than those words imply. I know it will get easier, I’ve just got to give myself some time and keep shuffling along. It’s just so easy to get discouraged.

I gotta tell ya- I am in no way as looking forward to tomorrow’s Learn to Run session as I was last week. We did our homework, which was to walk for a half hour, at least twice, so it’s not I didn’t prepare as directed. I already know what lies ahead on the docket for tomorrow evening and I do not feel quite ready to attempt it- walk for four minutes, run for one. & repeat.
For a total of five times. Five. Times.

Walk for 4 minutes,
Run for 1.

Walk for 4 minutes,
Run for 1.

Walk for 4 minutes,
Run for 1.

Walk for 4 minutes,
Run for 1.

Walk for 4 minutes,
Run for 1.

Wow. Its shocking how much that intimidates me.
-says the sneakers meant to run 13.1 miles in 8 months time.

It’s not like its even in the privacy of our one lane, wooded little road, far from witnesses other than deer and the odd squirrel. It’ll be happening out in public, at a park no less, with passersby. Not to mention the 100+ fellow Learn-to-Runners and their people. Despite what you may think from my bright colors, I do not like being a focal point. I don’t see how we’ll be able to escape notice either. My person, bless her, she is even worse at this than I am and I say that out of affection. Her heavy breathing at the end of our walks would be enough to attract attention. I can’t even fathom how she’s going to get through the first 5 minutes, no less the additional 20 of pushing herself. Here’s hoping that many others of the same shoes and will be concentrating on their own challenges to even notice us.

After all that complaining, I must end this on multiple bright sides. I’m pretty sure that hoping others are also struggling negates one of them…

At least her long pants keep me warm(er).

At least her long pants keep me warm(er).

With a view like this up to six days a week, I can handle the park for one.

With a view like this up to six days a week, I can handle the park for one.

Leave a Reply

